top of page

8 days after switch-on. It's ok to have a rest!

After a difficult start to the week I'm feeling much more positive now. I had my 1 week remap on Wednesday and that really helped. I feel like I've levelled up on a computer game! My dynamic range has increased quite a lot so the gap between me just detecting a sound and hearing it loudly and comfortably is greater and this seems to have made a big difference.

Speech still sounds odd but it is definitely taking on more of a speech-like quality. It sounds a little like electrical interference, or that annoying sound your mobile used to make when you were getting a text message next to a speaker but when I listen carefully and imagine the person speaking I'm starting to 'hear' a voice. I have another three progressive 'maps' to work through over the next week or so. During the day I'm trying to move up these maps but the next morning it makes me jump and it feels like my brain's gone back to the beginning again! 

I've been off work the last couple of days. I needed this time just to focus on listening with the implant. I feel much better having had the time to dedicate to it and feel like I've made lots more progress - I was able to name every number correctly between 1-20 without lipreading or my hearing aid tonight! 

Heading to the theatre tomorrow night - nothing like jumping in at the deep end - it's ballet though so I don't think the dialogue's crucial! 

I thought I'd add a picture of the scar behind my ear. It's not very impressive any more but it does show how quickly the body heals and that's pretty impressive in itself.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page