top of page

Day 6 - post op check

It was back to the hospital for a post-op check today with the Consultant and Coordinator of the Implant team.

I had an x-ray first of all then headed to the department for my appointment. It was a bit strange being back in work but now as a patient - but it was nice to see some friendly faces!

The consultant removed the sticky dressing from behind the ear and checked the implant under the skin. He was happy with how it was all healing and checked the x-ray. All looks good from the implant point of view which is a relief. During the surgery I also had a tympanoplasty (repair of the eardrum) as I had a longstanding perforation as a result of lots of infections in the past. This means my ear canal is still full of surgical packing and that won't come out for a couple of weeks. I am now allowed to get the wound behind my ear wet again so hair-washing is going to become a bit easier now!

I'm still a bit off-balance and the tinnitus remains but I think it's getting quieter. I'm starting to look forward to the switch-on now. As I've opted for an off the ear CI then my switch-on can be a little earlier than normal so the count down is now on for next week!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page